Follow us:

  • Written by
  • Mar 26, 2013
  • Posted in Events
  • Comments Off on Black Flash Magazine’s Optic Nerve Contest

Black Flash Magazine’s Annual Image Contest



The contest is open to Canadian residents only.

Each entry must be original, unpublished images or video work, not submitted elsewhere for publication, nor accepted elsewhere for publication, nor entered simultaneously in any other contest or competition for which it is also eligible to win a prize.

The basic fee for entrants is $25 for a maximum of two entries.

Payment can be made through Paypal by visiting the BlackFlash Store

Or by sending a cheque or money order payable to BlackFlash Magazine at: PO Box 7381 STN Main, Saskatoon, SK, S7K 4J3

Every entrant receives a one-year subscription or subscription extension to BlackFlash Magazine.

All entries must be paid for or post marked by May 31, 2013. Late entries will not be accepted.

All entries in the contest will be judged anonymously, on merit alone.

To enter please provide:

• Your information: Your name, complete mailing address, telephone number, and email address.

• Entry information: Title of entry(ies), medium of work, date of creation

• Your entry or entries: All entries (images in jpeg format, videos in MP4 format, maximum file size of 3MB) can be emailed  to letters[at] or mailed to the address above on a CD or DVD.

Entries will not be returned. Keep a copy of your entry. Only the winners will be notified of the final results.

The Optic Nerve contest winner will be posted on the at the end of April, 2011.

The winners are judged by a panel of independent and qualified judges from across Canada. Entries are scored based on the following categories:

Artistic Quality

Technical Merit


• $500

The winning entry and honourable mentions will be published in the Summer issue  of BlackFlash magazine and showcased on the

Dagmara Genda (2012), J.J. Kegan McFadden (2012), Don Snyder (2012), Richard Hines (2011), Jesse McKee (2011), Kelly Wood (2011), Evergon (2009), Geneviève Cadieux (2009), Vince Varga (2009), Joanne Bristol (2008), Stephen Bulger (2008), Candice Hopkins (2008), Shauna McCabe (2008), Reid Shier (2008)

Past Winners:


aka artist run

Comments are closed.

© Copyright 2017. All Rights Reserved. AKA artist-run would like to thank the Canada Council for the Arts, the Saskatchewan Arts Board, SaskCulture, and Saskatchewan Lotteries.